There Is No Need for an Uncharted Movie

In an interview with Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg it was reported that, “for, like, four years now,” Naughty Dog has been relentlessly asking them to write a script for the upcoming Uncharted movie. In the interview both Rogen and Goldberg emphasize how it would be just like Indiana Jones, so they have never really put much thought into actually writing it.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for video game being converted into movies, and I especially like the Uncharted games, but I don’t think there is a need for Uncharted to be made into a movie. Of course, the obvious reason are the similarities between it and Indiana Jones, but even more the Uncharted series is arguably a film series already. They like movies in almost every respect aside from the gameplay that fills the time in between each cut scene, but even the gameplay has a lot of film elements added into it especially in the platforming areas of the game. So, making this game into a movie is extremely redundant and I don’t see a point in going unless they added on from the latest Uncharted game or tied it in with the current story somehow. I highly doubt this happening because many people aren’t familiar with Uncharted’s characters, so Naughty Dog would have to reintroduce these characters for the people who haven’t played the games. This is when it gets weird, because reintroducing these characters and their back stories doesn’t make sense for people like me who are already familiar with them from playing all the Uncharted games.

I also feel like it’s very difficult to make a good video game movie because video games are already pretty cinematic, especially Naughty Dog games, making it hard to make the movie stand out from the game. Really the only reason for a game to be made into a movie, is if the movie does a better job at the storytelling, because most people would agree that movies, for the most part, beat out games in that area. Like I said before, I would like to see more video games made into motion pictures because they have some of the best stories and worlds out there, but we have yet to see a video game made into a movie/TV show that was actually well done, so I am always a bit skeptical when I hear about them.

In closing, I believe that an Uncharted movie has the potential to be great, and if it can legitimize video games as an art form to a wider audience  then I completely support as many games being made into motion pictures as possible. For me as a consumer, though, an Uncharted movie just seems frivolous, and unless this movie is flat out fantastic I’m not going to be itching to see it, as I already have three Uncharted movies that I can play at home.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

