Experience with Bioshock Infinite (Minor Spoilers)

Infinite was very similar to The Last of Us, in that it sucked me in from the start and didn’t spit me out until I fininshed it, and If I didn’t start playing it so late last night I probably would have finished it in one sitting, but even I have trouble staying awake at five o’clock in the morning. So I had to settle for the good ole’ two sittings to beat it.

Playing that late also made for one of the weirdest experiences I’ve had in gaming, because right before I went to bed was when Booker and Elizabeth first started going through the different dimensions, parrallel universes, tears, or whatever they’re callin’ em now. In a way, I felt like I was already dreaming because of how abstract the concepts were and how confused I was right before hitting the sack. All confusion and sleepiness aside, I really enjoyed this game and by the end of quite an ambitiously audacious story became my favorite Bioshock title of the three.

Confusion was a big part of my playthrough because the game throws so much at you throughout the game, especially at the end. Once I finished the game the first thing I did was look for an explanation to the story on the interwebs because my mind was spinning at that point. Although, I hope I don’t make it sound like the story doesn’t make sense, because it holds up for the most part, which is quite a feat considering how complex it becomes at the end, and it was my fault for binge playing the hell out of this, causing my brain to be mush by the end. It was one of the only games I’ve played where I was truly mindfucked coming out of it, and I had flashbacks of when I came of the movie theater after watching Inception for the first time, and I loved it for that.

The troubling question for me, though, is whether this should have even been a game? I say this because the story was just so well done, that I feel as though I would have rather just watched a movie version of the game, so I could have focused more on the intricacies of the story rather than having to fry my brain on shooting down tons baddies for long periods of time. Also, I found the vigors (or plasmids, in the other Bioshock games) to be forced in this entry because they didn’t fit all that well in the world. In Rapture, they worked really well because of the science-infused theme that surrounded the world, and messing with gene pools made sense for the people within it. In BI, it’s literally there because they were in those previous installments. Nonetheless, like I said before, this was my favorite Bioshock game because of the story, one that I will enjoy to play in the future when I’ve forgotten it’s secrets.

Playing this game and The Last of Us has made for one of the best, if not the best, summer of gaming I’ve had the pleasure to be a part of, not to mention other games like GTAV and South Park: The Stick of Truth coming later this season. Whether I liked Bioshock Infinite more than The Last of Us is a whole other post in itself, but I can safely say it is one of my favorite games that I have ever played.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

